News Photo
Bowling - Tue, Nov. 15, 2016

The St. Ambrose women bowlers are on a big-time roll right now, and this past weekend, they stormed through a strong eight-team bracket to capture the 2016 Leatherneck Classic, successfully defending the title they won a year ago. It also marked their second consecutive tournament win; two weeks ago they won the inaugural Five Seasons Classic in Cedar Rapids, Iowa. Twenty-six varsity teams competed in the tournament.

The win didn't come easily though, as they struggled on a demanding lane pattern during Saturday's six-game qualifying round, ending in seventh place heading into Sunday's baker competition. There, they maintained that seventh place showing, advancing to the best-of-3 bracket finals.

In the first round, they stormed past #2 seed Robert Morris University 2-0, and they then beat Newman University 2-1 in the semi-final match. That set up an unlikely #7 vs #8 championship match against Viterbo University, which upset #1 Wichita State and #4 Grand View on their march to the title tilt. St. Ambrose and Viterbo both struggled on a tricky championship pair. St Ambrose took the opener 160-142 before Viterbo squeaked by in game #2 158-156. That set up a deciding game #3, but after the teams tied at 184, a decisive fourth game was needed. There, St. Ambrose had just enough, taking that contest 184-174 to claim the tournament win.

Individually, freshman Kaitlyn Keith led the team with 1114 (six games). Other team members included Kayla Crawford (967-five games), Brittany Breedlove (898-five games), Katie Maher (778-four games), Michaela Kelly (541-three games), Miranda Rodriguez (506-three games), Hayley Ryan (364-two games) and Kayla Ewing (317-two games).

Women's Junior Varsity Post Victory
The JV #1 women's squad assured a double-sweep, as the JV women were victorious as well. They qualified fourth with 7969 pins. In the four-team bracket finals, they knocked off Robert Morris in a closely contested semi-final 2-1, and then went on to defeat St. Francis (Illinois) in the championship skirmish. They came back from an 0-1 deficit to win both contests.

Brooke Lodge led the JV scoring with 1135 (six games); she finished 17th overall. Other team members included Amber Granzow (1002-five games), Sonya Addison (929-five games), Chelsea Harris (624-four games), Sarah Heffron (536-three games), Alison Seibel (502-three games), Clare Tobin (310-two games), and Kayla Cory (274-two games).

The women's JV #2 squad finished fifth. They totaled 7560 pins. They were led by freshman Breanna Smith with 1078 (six games). Other players included Jamie Sexauer (995-six games), Haley Douglas (831-five games), Maddie Humphrey (622-four games), Paige Setchell (486-three games), Jackie Peters (469-three games), and Samantha Lewis (415-three games).

Men Finish 10th
The men's squad finished 10th this past week, missing out on the eight-team finals by 46 pins. Thirty-six varsity teams competed in the event.

The team ended Saturday's qualifying round in seventh place, but slipped during Sunday's baker competition, eventually winding up in 10th place. Lindenwood-Bellville outlasted Wisconsin Whitewater to win the championship.

The men's JV #1 team finished sixth, while the JV #2 team finished seventh.