News Photo
Bowling - Sun, Feb. 5, 2017

The St. Ambrose women's Junior Varsity enjoyed their finest performance this season, as they stormed through match play to take home the McKendree Baker Challenge title. 

The women qualified third in the field of six JV squads, but knocked off Newman University 2-1 in the championship match, coming back to win the final two games after dropping Game 1. The women's JV squad consisted of Amber Granzow, Kayla Cory, Alison Seibel, Sarah Heffron, Jackie Peters, Breanna Smith, Paige Setchell and Chelsea Harris. The JV women were coached by Matt Schlueter.

The Varsity men and women both qualified fifth this past weekend, and both lost in the first round of match play. 

The women qualified fifth with a 4798 pinfall total, and fell victim to powerhouse Wichita State, losing 2-0. The top qualifying teams were McKendree (5208) and Lindenwood (5012). Lindenwood went on to capture the title.

Competing for the SAU women were Brittany Breedlove, Kayla Crawford, Kayla Ewing, Kaitlyn Keith, Michaela Kelly, Katie Maher, Miranda Rodriguez and Hayley Ryan.

On the men's Varsity side, the Bees qualified fifth with 7814. The top qualifying teams were Webber International (8111) and Wichita State (8002). St. Ambrose squared off against defending national champions McKendree University in the opening round, losing 2-0. Wichita State defeated Webber in the championship match.

Brent Boho, Russell Deer, Alex Denton, Anthony Dodge, Billy Hibbard, Kyle Krol, Jonathan Labrador and Brenden Sramek competed for the Bees.

The men's JV team took 13th in a field of 15 men's JV teams. The JV team consisted of A.J. Balich, Justin Boer, Trevor Cross, Mitchell Kelley, Chet Maynard, Thomas Rotello, Blake Syron and Seth Tegtmeier.

Both men's and women's teams are in action this coming weekend at the annual Hoosier Classic - the final regular season event of the season. Sectional squad assignments will be released next week.