News Photo
Bowling - Thu, Feb. 23, 2017

USBC release

After staying close to home the last two years, the St. Ambrose men's and women's bowling teams will travel to Dallas, Texas, for the 2017 Intercollegiate Team Championships Sectional Qualifier March 10-12. 

Singles competition will take place on Friday, March 10, with team competition beginning the next day and concluding on Sunday.

The United States Bowling Congress (USBC) announced the assignments to the four sectionals today based on the Team Ranking System points earned throughout the USBC Collegiate season. Sectionals will also be competed in Addison, Ill.; Smyrna, Tenn.; and Allentown, Pa.

The No. 8-ranked SAU women's team and the No. 19-ranked men's team will bowl at USA Bowl in Dallas. The top-ranked Wichita State women and No. 2-ranked Midland men headline the sectional.

Sectionals consist of 32 Baker games each day for a total of 64 Baker games. The top four men's teams and top four women's teams at each sectional will advance to the 2017 Intercollegiate Team Championships, which will be April 19-22 at Raising Cane's River Center in Baton Rouge, La.

The SAU men's and women's teams have each qualified for sectionals every year since bowling became an official sport at St. Ambrose in 2009-10. The Bees had competed in Addison, Ill., the last two years and have been sent to sites in Illinois in five of the last six years but have traveled to Las Vegas (2010) and Smyrna, Tenn. (2014) over the years. Both teams have advanced to the Intercollegiate Team Championships twice - the men in back-to-back years in 2011-12 and 2012-13 and the women in 2009-10 and again last year.

Last season, Josh Anderson and Katie Maher qualified for the Singles Championship.

Dallas Sectional (USA Bowl)
Men - Arizona State, Bethel, California State-Fresno, Central Oklahoma, Grand Canyon, Iowa Central CC, Kansas Wesleyan, Lindenwood-Belleville, Midland, Nebraska-Lincoln, Nevada-Las Vegas, Newman, San Jose State, Spring Hill, St. Ambrose, Texas A&M, West Texas A&M, Wichita State
Women - Alabama-Birmingham, Baker, Central Oklahoma, Grand Canyon, Iowa Central CC, Lindenwood-Belleville, Midland, Newman, Sacred Heart, Spring Hill, St. Ambrose, Stephen F. Austin, West Texas A&M, Wichita State

More information on sectionals is available at