News Photo
Cheer/Dance - Sun, Feb. 26, 2017

NAIA qualifier announcement video

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – St. Ambrose is just one of three schools to have both its dance and cheer teams qualify for the 2017 NAIA Competitive Cheer & Dance National Championships as the NAIA announced the national qualifiers today.

A total of 12 dance teams and 12 cheer teams consisting of the eight qualifying group champions (four dance, four cheer) and 16 at-large bids (eight dance, eight cheer) will make their way to Oklahoma City, Okla., March 10 - 11 for the National Championships. Over the weekend in four qualifying group events, 44 teams faced off for the chance to make it to the national championship. The Bees earned at-large bids after the SAU dance team placed second and the cheer team finished fourth at the Northeast Regional in Adrian, Mich., Saturday.

The 2017 national event is hosted by Oklahoma City (Okla.) and will take place at the Abe Lemons Arena. Dance competition begins at 4:30 p.m. on March 10 with the cheer routines to start at 6:45 p.m. Saturday's activities will commence at 10 a.m. with the awards ceremony scheduled for 2:25 p.m.

The 2017 season marks the first year the sport will conduct a NAIA National Championship. The NAIA is the only collegiate athletics association to offer a national championship in these two sports. Competitive Cheer and Dance is the first to earn national championship status within the NAIA in a span of 22 years.

2017 Competitive Cheer National Championship Qualifiers
Teams listed alphabetically 
Bethel (Kan.) At-Large Bid
Concordia (Mich.) At-Large Bid
Davenport (Mich.) Northeast Qualifier Champion
Indiana Wesleyan At-Large Bid
Lindenwood-Belleville (Ill.) At-Large Bid
Lourdes (Ohio) At-Large Bid
MidAmerica Nazarene (Kan.) Northwest Qualifier Champion
Missouri Valley Southeast Qualifier Champion
Oklahoma City Southwest Qualifier Champion
St. Ambrose (Iowa) At-Large Bid
Saint Francis (Ind.) At-Large Bid
St. Gregory's (Okla.) At-Large Bid

2017 Competitive Dance National Championship Qualifiers
Teams listed alphabetically
Aquinas (Mich.) Northeast Qualifier Champion
Baker (Kan.) At-Large Bid
Central Methodist (Mo.) At-Large Bid
Grand View (Iowa) Southeast Qualifier Champion
Lindenwood-Belleville (Ill.) At-Large Bid
Midland (Neb.) Northwest Qualifier Champion
Missouri Baptist At-Large Bid
Morningside (Iowa) At-Large Bid
Oklahoma City Southwest Qualifier Champion
Siena Heights (Mich.) At-Large Bid
St. Ambrose (Iowa) At-Large Bid
Stephens (Mo.) At-Large Bid

Visit the NAIA site for more information on the NAIA National Championships