TPC Deere Run
TPC Deere Run
Men's Golf - Tue, Apr. 25, 2017

In a repeat of last year's conference tournament, St. Ambrose used a second-day push to finish in second place at the 2017 CCAC Men's Golf Championships hosted by SAU at TPC Deere Run in Silvis, Ill., Monday and Tuesday.

It mirrored the Bees' performance a year ago when the team jumped two teams to end in second place.

But unlike last year when SAU was 13 shots out of second place heading into the final round, this year's climb was less dramatic.

This year, Paul Burd, Adam Hutton and Bobby Wolfe helped the Bees overtake both Purdue Northwest and St. Francis to grab conference runner-up honors, making up a five-shot deficit in the second round.

After an opening-round 312, where Burd and Hutton led the way with matching 77s, St. Ambrose closed with a 304. 

Burd fired a final-day 73, SAU's best round of the tournament, to finish in a tie for sixth place with a 150.

Hutton was one of three other Bees to finish inside the top 20 after he took 16th place with a 155 (78-77). Wolfe made a six-shot improvement from Monday to Tuesday, firing a 75 after his 81 to finish in 17th place with a 156. Andrew Tichler was 19th after rounds of 80 and 78 gave him a 158.

Ben Thornton shot a 161 (78-83) to finish in a tie for 28th place.

SAU's late charge wasn't enough to unseat No. 19 Cardinal Stritch, who repeated as CCAC champions. The Wolves took control Monday with a first-round 294 and closed out a conference title with a 300 Tuesday for a 594, 22 shots better than the second-place Bees.

Cardinal Stritch and St. Ambrose will now represent the conference at the NAIA Men's Golf National Championships May 16-19 at TPC Deere Run. SAU will serve as the host school for the national tournament for the second straight year.

Joey Medora, from Holy Cross, will also advance to nationals after winning individual medalist honors at the conference tournament. He finished with an even-par 142 to win by six shots.

At the championships, the CCAC announced six Bees were named to the all-academic team. Devin Hartman, Adam Hutson, Andrew Marcum, Alex Pohlmann, Jared Struve and Bobby Wolfe were recognized for their work in the classroom.