2018 Softball Coaches
Ron Ferrill Image
Ron Ferrill
Head Coach: 8th Season
Phone: 563-333-5860

Ron Ferrill was named the head softball coach at St. Ambrose University on July 16, 2010.

And in the amount of time Ferrill has been at SAU, he has made a big difference with the Queen Bees. In his seven years, Ferrill has won 205 games and has surpassed 30 wins in four of the last five seasons.

The Bees have won at least 26 games in six straight years, including a 33-win campaign in 2017. That season saw Morgan Krieger and Julie Trellicoso earn First Team all-Chicagoland Collegiate Athletic Conference (CCAC) honors. The Bees won 35 games in 2016, when St. Ambrose began play in the CCAC. Ferrill coached conference freshman of the year in Morgan Krieger and had a total of four players named to the all-conference team. Krieger and Anna Boffeli were also named to the NFCA All-Central Region Team in 2016.

That came on the heels of a 26-win season in 2015. The year ended in the championship round of the conference tournament. Two players earned first team all-conference recognition and two others received honorable mention in 2015.

In 2014, St. Ambrose finished 32-22 overall and 15-8 in the Midwest Collegiate Conference. The Bees also advanced to the Final Four of the conference tournament. Kaci Krumreich was named first team all-region and was joined on the all-conference first team by teammates Niki Green and Stephanie Hebison. Anna Boffeli and Kayla Tatge received all-conference honorable mention.

In just his third year at the helm, Ferrill led the 2013 Bees to their first MCC championship since 2001. St. Ambrose matched a school record for wins in a season and received votes in the final NAIA top-25 coaches poll as part of a 40-15 campaign. In doing so, Ferrill was named the MCC Coach of the Year.

After compiling a 15-5 league mark, the Bees were just one win shy of the program's first appearance in the NAIA National Championship Tournament since the 2000 season.

Eight players were named to the 2013 all-conference team, and four of them - Sarah Frerichs, Stephanie Hebison, Kristen Paulson and Niki Green - were named to the all-region team.

The turnaround began in earnest in 2012 when Ferrill guided SAU to a 29-27 record and a tie for fourth place in the MCC. It marked the first time the Bees had finished over .500 since the 2009 season.

In that 2012 campaign, Ferrill coached three all-conference performers - Erin O'Donnell, Jenna Harshbarger and Frerichs.

In his first season at the helm in 2011, Ferrill led the Bees to a 7-3 win over then-#10 Shorter on the team's annual Spring Break trip.

Before joining SAU, Ferrill spent the previous two seasons as the head coach at Robert Morris University-Springfield, where he led the Lady Eagles to a United States Collegiate Athletic Association (USCAA) championship in 2010.

In his two years at Robert Morris, Ferrill compiled a 61-25 record. His 2009 club finished 23-13 and took second in the USCAA National Championship Tournament before his 2010 squad went 38-12 en route to the national title. The Lady Eagles were the top-ranked team in the USCAA throughout the 2010 season and won their final 15 games to close the campaign. At Robert Morris, Ferrill coached five all-Americans and seven academic all-Americans while his teams maintained better than 3.0 GPAs.

A native of Dallas City, Ill., and a graduate of Western Illinois University, Ferrill served in the United States Army before returning to Illinois to pursue a coaching and teaching career. He got his coaching start at Dallas City High School. He also spent time coaching the West Central Tornadoes 16-and-under ASA program and assisting the Nauvoo Colusa High School team.

"I am very excited to be the head softball coach at St. Ambrose," Ferrill said. "St. Ambrose is an outstanding school with great sports tradition and I welcome the task of elevating the softball program to the top of the conference and hopefully onto the national stage.

School Year  Record  Accomplishments
St. Ambrose 2017 33-18  
Assumption HS 2017 44-1 State Champions, Conf. Coach of the Year, All-Iowa Coach of the Year
St. Ambrose  2016  35-18   
Assumption HS  2016  41-5  State runner-up, Conf. Coach of the Year
St. Ambrose  2015  26-24-1   
Assumption HS  2015  31-7  District Coach of the Year
St. Ambrose  2014  32-22   
St. Ambrose  2013  40-15  Conference Coach of the Year
St. Ambrose  2012  29-27   
St. Ambrose  2011  10-29   
Robert Morris  2010  38-12  USCAA National Champions
Robert Morris  2009  23-13   


Tarah Rayos Image
Tarah Rayos
Assistant Coach: 2nd Season
Mike Ackerman Image
Mike Ackerman
Assistant Coach: 2nd Season