Ray Shovlain
Ray Shovlain Image
Position: Head Coach
Years Coached: 35th Season
Phone: 563-333-6233

Coach Ray Shovlain has always challenged the student-athletes in all programs to "Bee" leaders. A St. Ambrose University leader defines winning as an every day effort to improve themselves, others around them, and the communities in which they are involved. Over the past three-plus decades, Coach Shovlain and his staff have strived to instill that leadership in the student-athletes that participate in men's basketball.

The Fighting Bees have experienced tremendous success since Shovlain was named head basketball coach in 1983-84. This success starts with the quality, readiness, performance and community involvement that the men's basketball program has been able to achieve.

Given that foundation, success on the basketball court has followed. Shovlain has achieved 625 victories and 18 20-win seasons over his stellar career. The basketball program has earned 10 NAIA National Tournament appearances and four Sweet 16 finishes under Shovlain, including the school's first and only trip to the Final Four in 2004, when the team set a school record for most victories in a single season (32).

This has been accomplished against an extremely competitive and challenging schedule that has included many contests against NCAA Division I and II competitors. The program has elected to schedule the best opponents possible. This year's schedule is no different. Past seasons have included games against many NCAA Division I opponents, including California State at Los Angeles, Creighton, Indiana State, Loyola Marymount, St. Louis University, the University of San Diego, Western Illinois, Eastern Illinois, DePaul, Bradley, Loyola University Chicago and Notre Dame.

Well regarded by his peers, Shovlain has spoke at a number of summer basketball camps at DePaul, Drake, Colorado State, Illinois State, Louisville and Notre Dame. After the 1988-89 season, Shovlain was the recipient of the Paul Maaske Memorial Award, an award given annually by the Iowa Basketball Coaches Association to the leading small college coach in the state.

Shovlain has also gained nationwide recognition as the activity director of the National Youth Sports Program (NYSP) at St. Ambrose. The NYSP is a summer youth program aimed to help economically disadvantaged children ages 10-16 in the Quad City area. The St. Ambrose University NYSP program was selected for the Silvio O. Conte Award in 1996, recognizing them as the top NYSP program in the country.

A graduate of Clinton's St. Mary's High School, Shovlain led his team to the 1975 Iowa State Championship while earning All-State honors. As a four-year letterman at St. Ambrose, Shovlain still holds the single game, season and career assist records and was inducted into the SAU Athletic Hall of Fame in 1993. He went on to earn his master's in business administration at St. Ambrose in 1982.

In addition to coaching and leading the Athletics Department, Shovlain's position at St. Ambrose allows him to fulfill one of his other passions, which is teaching in the College of Business. Shovlain was selected Professor of the Year in 1989 and 1993. Shovlain and his wife, Betsy, currently reside in Davenport. They are blessed with a daughter, Katelyn Rae, and a son, Sean Michael.  

2017-18 Men's Basketball Roster
Roster for 2017-18 Men's Basketball Team
#NameCl.Pos.Ht.Wt.HometownPrevious School
Brice AbbottFRG6-0180Earlville, Ill.Earlville
Warren AllenFRF6-5210Olympia Fields, Ill.Marian Catholic
Blake BulsSRF6-5220Wentzville, Mo.Fort Zumwalt North
Matt BurkeFRG6-3190DeWitt, Iowa
Jason CapperJRC6-8215Melbourne, AustraliaXavier College
Keon DaySOG6-1180Springfield, Ill.Springfield
Jon DoseFRG6-1195Oglesby, Ill.St. Bede Academy
Danzell DouglasJRG5-7155Gary, Ind.Lighthouse/Ashford Univ.
Chris EdwardsFRG6-1183Dolton, Ill.Tinley Park
Garrett FarisSRG6-0180Centerville, IowaCenterville/William Penn Univ.
Hunter FettketherSOG5-11165Mason City, IowaNewman Catholic
Max FrickeSRG/F6-2175Winfield, IowaWinfield-Mt. Union
Lee HardrickSRG6-0175Hillside, Ill.Walther Lutheran
Tyler HilbySRG/F6-5195East Dubuque, Ill.East Dubuque
Denzel JonesJRG5-11193Galesburg, Ill.Galesburg/Carl Sandburg
Dylan KaczmarekFRG6-3165Woodridge, Ill.Downers Grove South
Tom KazaneckiFRF/C6-7215Palos Heights, Ill.Amos Alonzo Stagg
John KerrFRF/C6-7190Lake Villa, Ill.Grant Community
Chris KosminskySOG6-3180Rapids City, Ill.Riverdale
Kevin KrahnJRG6-2160Chicago, Ill.Mount Carmel
Alex KusterSRF6-3160Burlington, IowaBurlington Notre Dame/DMACC
Jake MeeskeSOG6-3170East Moline, Ill.United Township
Mike MooneyJRG/F6-4195Woodridge, Ill.Montini Catholic
Andrew PauliFRF6-1190Eldridge, IowaDavenport Assumption
John PayanSRG6-3185Sterling, Ill.Newman Central Catholic
Chris PooleSRG/F6-4186Villa Park, Ill.Willowbrook
Alex PortwoodJRG/F6-4200Sheldon, Ill.Milford/Lincoln Land CC
Kamaal PowerFRG6-0160Chicago, Ill.Mount Carmel
Adrian ProanoSRF6-3210Quito, EcuadorLake Park
Kyle RohrFRG6-0165Lake Villa, Ill.Lakes Community
Zach SullivanFRG6-1175Pekin, Ill.Pekin Community
Nate TerveerSRF6-1180Rock Falls, Ill.Newman Central Catholic
Bradley WachtelSOC6-5215Muscatine, IowaLouisa Muscatine
Greg WagnerSRC6-7240Wood Dale, Ill.Fenton
Drew WichersJRG6-2175Muscatine, IowaMuscatine
Michael WilliamsFRF6-5180Addison, Ill.Addison Trail
Ray Shovlain Image
Head Coach
35th season
Jim Kiss Image
Associate Head Coach
10th season
Assistant Coach
2nd season
Alex Donahue Image
3rd season
Matt Wastyn Image
3rd season