Kevin Carlson
Kevin Carlson Image
Position: Drumline Instructor

Kevin Carlson started in marching percussion right here in Davenport under the whiplash-like instruction of Jack King and took that education to Central High School to win championships with the legendary John Bernatz playing tenors. His junior and senior years at Central, Kevin started travelling to Iowa City weekly for private instruction at the University of Iowa and upon graduation took himself to Iowa to march with the Sudler Award Winning Hawkeye Marching Band, again on tenors.

While at Iowa Kevin had the good fortune to study under John Wooten and the great Tom Davis. Kevin started teaching privately in high school and has continued a passion for passing on knowledge. He started teaching marching percussion at St. Ambrose in 2016 and oversaw the inaugural year of the marching Bee Drumline. Kevin has degrees in Political Science and Percussion Performance from the University or Iowa and studied leadership at St. Ambrose.  

2017-18 Athletic Bands Members
Roster for 2017-18 Athletic Bands Team
#NameCl.Pos.Ht.Wt.HometownPrevious SchoolInstrument
Kindred AhrensFR  Bartonville, Ill.Limestone CommunityFlute
Brandon AlbrechtFR  Amboy, Ill.AmboyClarinet
Gabrielle BauerJR  Oswego, Ill.OswegoDrum Major
Dinah ChavezSO  Chicago, Ill.Nazareth Academy
Jenna CoeJR  Dixon, IowaNorth ScottTenor Saxophone
Courtney CookFR  Princeton, Ill.St. Bede AcademyTrombone
Winfrid CooperJR  Elgin, Ill.ElginSousaphone
Dillyn DaGamaFR  Davenport, IowaDavenport CentralSousaphone
Matthew DiIulioSO  Rock Island, Ill.AllemanDrumline
Halie DoddSO  Davenport, IowaDavenport NorthClarinet
Max FinleyFR  East Moline, Ill.United TownshipTrumpet
Brianna GascaFR  Glendale Heights, Ill.Glenbard WestClarinet
Amanda GoldensophSO  Clinton, IowaClintonAlto Saxophone
Maddie GrovesFR  Dwight, Ill.Dwight TownshipDrumline
Lauren Haack  
Alexis HagenFR  Stockton, IowaDurantDrumline
Sarrah HammondSO  Canton, Ill.CantonDrum Major
Lindsey HartFR  East Moline, Ill.United TownshipClarinet
Cassy HeitmanSO  Williamsburg, IowaWilliamsburgTenor Saxophone
Perla HernandezJR  Villa Park, Ill.WillowbrookTrumpet
Amelia HinchJR  Maquoketa, IowaMaquoketaDrumline
Jacob HuismanJR  Milan, Ill.Rock IslandDrumline
Natalie JonesSO  Iowa City, IowaIowa City HighMedia & Marketing
Elizabeth LangeSR  East Dubuque, Ill.East DubuqueAlto Saxophone
Collin LeddyJR  Milledgeville, Ill.MilledgevilleTrombone
Brody LeibfriedFR  Dubuque, IowaHempstead
Elijah LloydFR  Rock Island, Ill.Rock Island
Dom MarshallFR  Justice, Ill.Argo CommunityDrumline
Jacob MatthewsSO  Westchester, Ill.Nazareth AcademySousaphone
Elena MuhsFR  Eldridge, IowaNorth ScottClarinet
Zoey MurphyFR  Kewanee, Ill.KewaneeMellophone
Hannah OliverJR  Washington, Ill.Washington CommunityPiccolo
Andy OlsonSR  Hamilton, Ill.Holy Trinity CatholicTrombone
Ethan ParchertSO  Illinois City, Ill.RockridgeTrumpet
Elise PotvinFR  Woodbury, Minn.Hill-MurrayTenor Saxophone
Rebekkah ReplogleJR  Tremont, Ill.TremontFlute
Kathleen RileyFR  Altoona, IowaSoutheast PolkClarinet
Hannah SalataFR  Chillicothe, Ill.Illinois Valley CentralCymbals
Nick SchaffnerFR  Oskaloosa, IowaOskaloosaDrumline
Grayson SchoonoverFR  Davenport, IowaNorth ScottTuba
Gradin SchroederSO  West Burlington, IowaWest BurlingtonAlto Saxophone
Erika SeabloomFR  Cambridge, Ill.AlWoodSousaphone
Madie SherwoodJR  Washington, Ill.Washington CommunityPiccolo
TJ ShubertSO  Monee, Ill.Marian CatholicSousaphone
Brittany SlaterSO  Milwaukee, Wis.MessmerAlto Saxophone
Jacob StoneFR  Cambridge, Ill.CambridgeDrumline
Michael TappaFR  Bettendorf, IowaPleasant Valley
Mary VargoFR  Griffith, Ind.Bishop Noll InstituteTenor Saxophone
Heather VromanSO  Seneca, Ill.Seneca TownshipMellophone
Cassi WayFR  Silvis, Ill.United TownshipFlute
Kelsey WeatherfordFR  Columbia, Ill.ColumbiaAlto Saxophone
Jacob WhiteFR  Alpha, Ill.AlWoodAlto Saxophone
Joel WhitmoreFR  Donahue, IowaCalamus-WheatlandDrumline
Rachel WiedmanFR  Villa Park, Ill.WillowbrookTrumpet
Aubrey WilliamsFR  Davenport, IowaDavenport CentralClarinet
Laura WilliamsFR  Byron, Ill.ByronMellophone
Jacklyn YoungSR  Rock Island, Ill.Rock IslandTrumpet
Faith ZinkenFR  St. Cloud, Minn.BeckerFlute
Megan Cooney Image
Director of Athletic Bands
Dr. Nick Enz Image
Director of Bands
Natalie Jones Image
Media and Marketing
Elizabeth Lange Image
Music Librarian
Rachel Rivard Image
Band Camp - Instructional/Visual Special
Band Camp - Low Brass Specialist
Matthew Hartmann Image
Band Camp - High Brass Specialist
Kevin Carlson Image
Drumline Instructor