Jeff Griebel
Jeff Griebel Image
Position: Head Coach
Years Coached: 36th Season
Phone: 563-333-6305

Jeff Griebel has been the men's golf coach at St. Ambrose since 1982. Over that time, he has been named a conference coach of the year 15 times, including the 2016 Chicagoland Collegiate Athletic Conference Coach of the Year, and the NAIA Midwest Region 7 Coach of the Year 19 times.

Griebel's teams have qualified for the NAIA Men’s Golf National Tournament 25 times. His 2004 team finished third and his 2006 team finished fourth at the national championship. He earned his 200th career tournament victory at St. Ambrose when the Bees won the Clarke Fall Early Bird on Sept. 1, 2015. He has accumulated 206 tournament wins in his career, a winning percentage that ranks him as one of the top active coaches in any division nationally.

Griebel has coached eight NAIA first team All Americans: Michael Crowley (1991), Skip Berkmeyer (1994), Bill Olson (1998), Kevin Pickerell (1999), Josh Nelson (2000), Joe Demory (2004, 2005), Drew Chuipek (2006, 2007) and Dusty Drenth (2009, 2010). He has had two NAIA second team All Americans: Adam White and Dusty Drenth (2008).

Coach Griebel is a past president of the NAIA Men's Golf Coaches Association and has served as men's golf chair of the NAIA Region 7 and Midwest Collegiate Conference. He served as the NAIA At-Large Representative on the National Advisory Board of the Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA) from 2009-13. He is also a member of the Board of Directors for the Quad City Sports Commission.

Coach Griebel was instrumental in bringing the NAIA Men's Golf National Tournament to the Quad Cities at TPC Deere Run in 2009, 2010 and 2011, and again in 2016-17. St. Ambrose will again host the national tournament at Deere Run in 2018.

Coach Griebel was selected by the NAIA as the men's team coach for the USA National Golf Team that competed in the World University Golf Championships in Malaga, Spain in July 2010.

Coach Griebel was inducted into the St. Ambrose Athletic Department Hall of Fame in 1994. He was honored as the recipient of the Bob Fry Award from the Iowa section PGA of America in 2000. He received The St. Ambrose University Distinguished Service Award in January 2004 and was inducted into the NAIA Coaches Hall of Fame in May 2010.

Coach Griebel also serves as Director of Athletic Recruitment and assistant men's and women's bowling coach at St. Ambrose.

2017-18 Men's Golf Roster
Roster for 2017-18 Men's Golf Team
#NameCl.Pos.Ht.Wt.HometownPrevious School
Johnny BaumunkSR  Sherrard, Ill.Sherrard
Aren BoxleitnerSO  Cherry Valley, Ill.Rockford Christian
Johnny CallahanSO  Geneva, Ill.Marmion Academy
Dylan DaxonSR  Milan, Ill.Rockridge
McGwire EdenFR  DeWitt, IowaCentral DeWitt
Colin EversSO  Peoria, Ill.Peoria Notre Dame
Reese GarnjobstFR  Burlington, IowaBurlington Notre Dame
Trevor GreenSR  DeWitt, IowaCentral DeWitt
Ben HanserSO  Davenport, IowaDavenport Assumption
Josh HarringtonSR  Naperville, Ill.Naperville North
Devin HartmanSR  Lanark, Ill.Eastland
Adam HutsonJR  Quincy, Ill.Quincy Notre Dame
Kyle JensenJR  Lena, Ill.Lena-Winslow
Zachary MatejkaSR  Johnsburg, Ill.Johnsburg
Matt McEwenFR  Aledo, Ill.Mercer County
Nate McMillinSR  Peoria, Ill.Peoria Notre Dame
Alex PohlmannSR  Bettendorf, IowaBettendorf
Colin PrangerFR  Johnston, IowaJohnston
Thomas ResnickSO  Bettendorf, IowaDavenport Assumption
Jordan RoweJR  Mason City, IowaMason City
Marty SchwebkeFR  Roscoe, Ill.Harlem
Andrew TichlerSR  Rock Falls, Ill.Rock Falls
Jeff Griebel Image
Head Coach
36th season
Paul Burd Image
Assistant Coach
1st season